ID my ROCK

rachelx323

so im new to the whole metal detecting thing..i've had my metal detector for about almost a year now...
anyways, i was detecting down behind my brothers house and i've been picking up rocks. they make the metal detector beep and it shows up as $1 on the screen. i grabbed a few and smashed open one.. their small rocks (about the size of a baseball) and they've got a BLUE ish tint in the middle..i can upload pix later, but if anyone has any ideas on my rocks, that'd be great... :tumble: thanks!

ALSO, if this helps any... I live in Connecticut, southeastern to be exact... also, the rocks were only a few inches deep... its at the bottom of a hill so its close to the water table too

~Rachel

rocks.jpg

Last edited:
Best I can tell from the pic is the one on the right looks to be a flint of sorts, The one in the center looks like maybe Lapis Lazuli, It might set off the detector because there may be small traces of pyrite mixed in there..The two on the left can't Say for sure. I'm just guessing, So my info might could be wrong.

Best I can tell from the pic is the one on the right looks to be a flint of sorts, The one in the center looks like maybe Lapis Lazuli, It might set off the detector because there may be small traces of pyrite mixed in there..The two on the left can't Say for sure. I'm just guessing, So my info might could be wrong.

Pyrite is not a metal and should not cause a detector to signal...

rocks

I have also found some rocks similar to what you have discovered in Connecticut! dont know..maybe they could be from outer space??? happy rock hunting!:shock:

My wifes more the rock collector, She has a huge collection of mineral rocks...I scanned them all with my detector and there were only 4 that it picked up, The only one that was blue it picked up was Magnetite..It is still possible the blue one could be Lapis Lazuli, it is know to be found in Connecticut..Good luck hope you figure them out.