What pinpointer to choose.

Keno Nightowl

I'm new to this sport and need to get a pin pointer, was thinking of a Garrett but with all the bad reports of them failing I've read here I'm not sure what to get. Any helpful thoughts would be appreciated.

As far as I can tell, the propointer 2 and the propointer AT haven't had the issues the original one did. I've been on the propointer 2 since the ground thawed and haven't had any issues with it as of yet. Good luck and HH!

I'm new to this sport and need to get a pin pointer, was thinking of a Garrett but with all the bad reports of them failing I've read here I'm not sure what to get. Any helpful thoughts would be appreciated.

I love my Garrett Carrot. (PP AT) Been in the sand, sea, rivers, and mud and hasn't missed a beat. Just rinse it off when you're done and you're good to go for next time! I like the sensitivity levels it has and that you can turn the beeps off and go by the feel of the vibration. Perfect for crowded areas.

Also a Pro Pointer user. Mine started to go on the fritz after over 220 hunts, so I bought a Garrett Carrot to replace it, which I like even better. It's the bomb-diggity! :D

I think some users had issues when the Garrett Carrot was first released, but with future releases they seem to have addressed those issues. Plus, they have excellent customer service. (I saw those first reports too, but all I've heard since then has been excellent.)

For the cost, these Garrett PP's should last longer than they do. Mine made it about two years. That little Harbor Freight job is less than one fifth the price, and gets the job done.

I have both the Garrett Carrot and the Whites TRX. I bought the Garrett because I was having so many problems with the TRX. Love the Garrett

I swear by my Carrot also. No issues at all.

I also have one of the el cheapo pinpointers which works just fine as long as you get the tip within 1/4" of the metal you're looking for. :roll: