choices, choices, choices

sillygirl

Hi all you metal detector fiends! Okay so I'm new to the whole metal detector thing. I'm so new that I haven't even purchased one yet! For the prices I have so far seen I'm really between choosing the Bounty Hunter tracker iv or the garrett ac4e 250. I'm hoping someone can help me make my decision. I live in upstate new york in a home that is 240 years old. There is an old root cellar, outhouse, and a huge cellar. There have only been 3 owners before me. Can anyone help based on what I plan on using it for which of the 2 they might recommend. Thanks so much, Stephanie

The Ace 250 is the more popular on this forum anyway. I started out with the Tracker IV and can't say enough good things about it. You can check out my finds from the first year at:

http://www.metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=12926

If you plan on just going over your property and really rooting out all the old stuff, you may want to shoot for something a little higher end if possible with better depth. I'm sure others can recommend lots of options.

Good luck!

Of the 2 you mention I would recomend the Ace 250 , The 250 is way more versitile, it has small and large aftermarket coils availible, also Sunray makes an inline probe for the Ace..........Good luck.

Welcome to the forum sillygirl. I'm sure you'll enjoy either detector. The Ace 250 is probably more user friendly though.

I'm sure all of us "fiends" can agree... we can't wait to see what you find. :yes:

Welcome!
waytogo.gif

Can't wait to see what comes out of your yard!

I think you need a personal metal detecting trainer... namely ME!... j/k sounds like an awesome place to hunt... I always recommend the Ace250 a an excellent starter machine that will do just fine in your location and the type of hunting you'll be doing... Can't wait to see what you find!