E-trac Fe-Co #s for Coins

Beefcake

Elite Member
Ok, had my first outing with the E-trac. Mind you I have absolutely NO EXPERIENCE with this machine or any Minelab machines. I had plenty of signals, but had no idea what they were and what type of target I might have under my coil. I knew from watching videos that the sweet spot was in the 12 -40's etc, but I was getting alot of signals that I didn't know to dig or not. I know I should be digging everything at this point, but it was a dreary day and I wanted to make the most of my time. I got home and decided to do some homework to familiarize myself with the Fe - Co numbers. I realize that different conditions may make for different results. Either way, as a total novice, I hope this will be helpful to more than just me. I went through every type of keeper coin I could find in my collection and compiled this list. Feel free to offer up suggestions and perhaps we can have a master list for the people of this forum to use. Her goes...

Coin Type Date Fe-Co # Tone

Large Cent 1850 03 - 45 high

Flying Eagle cent 1857 11 - 24 low
Indian Head (Fatty) 1860 11 - 25 low
Indian Head 1900 11 - 35 high
Wheat penny (early) 1919 12 - 35 low
Wheat penny (later) 1942 12 - 44 high

Seated Half Dime (silver) 1862 11 - 36 high
Shield Nickel 1867 12 - 12 low
V Nickel 1905 12 - 12 low
War Nickel 1942 12 - 13 low
Modern Nickel Pres 12 - 13 low

Barber Dime 1898 12 - 42 high (steady)
Mercury Dime 1941 12 - 45 high (flutey)
Rosey (silver) 1948 12 - 45 high (flutey)
Modern Dime (clad) Pres 12 - 44 high (steady)

Barber Quarter 1899 12 - 46(~47) high (flutey)
Standing Liberty Quarter 1920 11 - 47 high (steady)
Washington (silver) 1945 11 - 47 high (steady)

Barber Half 1900 (~03) 04 - 47 high (steady)
Walking Liberty Half 1936 06 - 47 high (steady)
Franklin Silver half 1953 03 - 43 high (sporatic)***
Kennedy Silver half 1964 03 - 44 high (sporatic)***

Morgan Dollar 1921 01 - 42 high (sporatic)***