headphones a big deal?

hammer3031

I'm still a noob so I was just wondering if good headphones really matter? I just use the ones that came with the AT Pro is it worth it to go buy a more expensive pair? any tips on headphone choices?

With an ATP yes. It's necessary for those deeper hits. Your batteries will last much longer too.

Machine speaker doesn't performe near as well as a nice pair of phones.

I'm still a noob so I was just wondering if good headphones really matter? I just use the ones that came with the AT Pro is it worth it to go buy a more expensive pair? any tips on headphone choices?

While I may not be the worlds most picky. Audio speakers etc in a little more choosy. I have to say the stock land ones are pretty darned impressive.
I'd say swing with it and them for a while and see how it works out.

Running without any though is shockingly loud lol...

I even bought a extra pair of the ones which come with the pro.

The big difference in higher end models such as Gray Ghost are comfort and durability. I use to use cheaper $30 dollar types such as Calrad, the padding was terrible, they hurt my ears, and I would go through about 2 pair a season, sometimes more if I was hunting woods. With higher end models you get a lifetime warranty on most, they sound better, they fit better, and they will last forever. Will you find more? Probably not. You might get that rare deep hit that the higher end audio will let you hear better, but it's more about buying 1 pair of high end vs. buying low end pairs every few months when they wear out. You could always use the pair you have now until they wear out or break and then go with a higher end model. You will notice a big difference in comfort right away when you upgrade.

Cut my headphone cord and wired in an 1/8 jack. Now I can use any ear "buds" and they are great. No more gigantic headphones :D. PS I also wired in volume control.