Adding up the clad

Chipk

Elite Member
Well I've been detecting for two years now and it's been fun and occasionally rewarding. I've found over 3 dozen rings of which 6 were gold, 20 are silver and the rest were costume ( including a stainless steel with a CZ found today. ) I have a healthy collection of matchbox cars and trucks, tent stakes out the wazoo and lots and lots of other buried trash and treasures. I started with a pair of Ace 250s and have added a brace of ATPs, an xTerra 705 and a TESORO Sand Shark.

It's been a busy 2 years.

However what I've really found has been clad. LOTS of clad. Silver coins are hard to find here (3 silver dimes and a pair of buff nickels) but clad is plentiful. Pennies seem to carpet the ground here and quarters and dimes are plentiful. I avoid digging pennies most of the time because I hate taking the time to dig them since it takes so many to make much of a score so I concentrate on quarters and dimes.

In my bedroom I have a large Tupperware container. When I get home from a hunt, I rinse off my found clad and dump it in the container. Once it gets full I start tumbling and dividing it by denomination into smaller Tupperware containers. When they start to fill up I count them out and roll them. The rolls had been stored on trays in a closet.

I have a trip to Costa Rica in November and I decided I need to get these coins organized and deposited in the bank. Plus they were taking up valuable closet space. So last month I started a marathon tumbling effort. Cleaned up the coins and started rolling them. They started adding up.