How often to you run into fellow detectorists while hunting?

maxxkatt

Forum Supporter
I am not talking about competition, vendor or club hunts.

Just on your normal hunt.

For instance I live near a very busy park along side of the river running through Atlanta.

2-3 years ago, it was not uncommon to run into a detectorists once or twice a week. I walk my dog in the park daily and detect it probably 2x per week.

It is a very trashy park. And based on some to the models they are using, I can see why they would find much other than modern junk.

About half were total newbies, and I told them that this was not the best place to start and never saw them again.

Over the past 2-3 years there have been about 3 fellow detectorists that hit that park probably at least once per month.

We have a volleyball court so that is an attraction. I seed it with a penny with a "X" stamped in it in the center of the net about 2 in down so any dector cannot miss it. This is how I gauage how often the volleyball court is being hit by others. Probably about 1 time each month.

Only one time in my civil war location did I meet a fellow detectorist. He was hunting the same area that I was hunting and we were both using the Nox 800. He said he was not having luck finding CW relics as was my response for that day.

Never

But then again, I only get in about half a dozen or so hours of hunting per month (on average)

I've had detectorists who were driving by stop and talk to me when I'm detecting near a road. And I've stopped once on my drive to a spot when I saw a guy detecting. But even though I hit a lot of public places I've never run into another detectorist detecting where I was detecting.

1. Years ago I had county cop in his patrol car stop and walk over to me. He just wanted to see if I was finding anything. He was a detectorist and we discussed our best finds for a while.