GTA, GTI, VDI, Target ID, do we really need them

steevo

Hello All....
I am a relative newbie to the hobby and thought I'd propose this question.....

If it is best practice to just dig all targets do we really need these numbers, graphs and programmes which seem to be relatively easily fooled by various circumstances and conditions?

Target ID numbers are not terribly accurate from my experience and a single gold ring or coin for example can give several different ID numbers depending on how long it has been in the ground, what angle it is, how deep it is, and the type of soil it is in....

The general opinion seems to be to dig all targets no matter what ,so if this is true do we really need all the target ID and sophisticated programmes with conductivity numbers and all the other things that supposedly tell us whats under the ground?

Would the best machine not just be one that goes deep, gives you manual ground balance, descrimination control, sensitivity control, and accurate pinpointing?

What do you think? I would like to hear others thoughts and opinions....

Steve from NZ

Everyone has there own preference but for me you have hit the nail on the head. For me, the best thing to do with target ID was to ignore it, and if you aren't going to use it, why have it. I have used a lot of detectors over the last 30 years, but I am very happy with my Tejon.

I agree. I have used my dad's Tesoro Eldorado for years, and am now about to buy the Tejon. I prefer to not have all of the extra crap on there. It is just something else to go wrong. I am going to dig everything, regardless of what it says, you know it is not always right. The only way to know for sure is to dig it, so that is what I will do. I am sure the Tejon will serve me just fine.