Garrett Propointer over cheaper models?

Dig-Dug

Forum Supporter
I'm new to the hobby and just got started with my ATP. I've been looking at pinpointers and want to know if the Garrett propointer is really that much better than the $40-$60 pinpointers by Fisher and BH. The price difference is significant. Is the Garrett worth the $60-$80 more or do the cheaper ones work just as well? Thanks.

It definitely is, I tried to convince myself for awhile that my bounty hunter probe was just as good, until I broke down and got 2 propointers. The bounty hunters aren't bad but the propointer will make things simple for you and they have more depth a light built in and the pulse gets stronger the closer you get to the target.

Might should have waited for feedback on the new whites pointer. I got rid of all three of my propointers. To be honest, the way they are made they shouldn't cost more than 50 bucks. I got a new TRX on the way to test against the pro find and pistol probe. Sounds like the TRX should hang with the pistol probe for depth. Any pointer is better than no pointer though. Just hope you don't get a defective propointer right out of the box. Some guys have luck with them. I wasn't one of those people:lol:

Been using Harbor Freight $16 junk as there were to many problems posted about the Pro Pointer. Whites TRX will be in my hands Tuesday. Forum sponsor
phil myers has them in stock!
Forum Sponsor www.myersdepot.com 813-237-1939 [email protected]

Do some forum searchers, just saw anther field report yesterday from a user where he was getting 4.5" with the TRX, KellyCo was 3.5 and Pro Pointer did not read at all.. If I can find it I will post a link to it later on.

Congrats on the purchase N7XW you wont regret it. A tip buy an alkaline battery for it, they ship it with a heavy duty and it dies very quickly and will tend to make the PP act up. I don't know why they do that.