Advice on buying a different ACE 250 Coil

threefingerdave

howdy.
I am pretty new to MD but read the forum every day.
This is a great site!
I have an ACE 250 with the stock coil.
Wifey says i can get a different coil for my bday!
i think i would like to get a DD coil but would appreciate any advice.
I have found 1 wheaty and 1 1940 nickel plus a lot of clad.
i keep thinking if i go deeper i will find a silver.
I looked at the large 10x14 elliptical DD coil that one of the online sponsors has for sale for 99.00.
is it a good choice? i like to hunt mostly pretty flat areas.
also i do have the sniper coil but only used it once as i haven't been in a really trashy place yet.
again i appreciate any advice and apologize if this subject has been posted before
Thanks
and happy huntin

Going deeper with the ace 250 isnt always the best choice since you will also cover more ground with the larger coil and end up with more trouble identifying targets because they are close to each other , and even more trouble pinpointing. Since most of the silver should be well within the reach of the stock coil , you would do better to get the small sniper coil which gets nearly the same depth but seperates targets much better and pinpoints like a dream. It also transforms the 250 into an ideal playground and fenceline hunting machine since you can usually get right up close without getting the steel from the equiptment. The single best upgrade for the 250 or even 150 is the sniper coil.

OhioChris,
Thank you for your reply!
I do have the Sniper coil and will give it an honest try
Sincerly
Dave

OOOPS!... I missed where you said you already had the sniper coil. Now I went back and seen it. Well you have the two best coils for the 250 , if you decide to get the double D coil you will have atleast one more option to try. The areas where you can use them effectively may be limited because of high amount of trash or whatever but it wouldnt hurt to try.