I'm not trying to be difficult...

CTStalker

I've been contemplating buying a MD for a couple of months now. I'm a hunter and have easy access to about 700 acres of land here in Connecticut, USA. I have a couple of guidelines for purchase:

- available through Amazon.com as I have gift cards there
- OK for use by a tall person 6'5"
- Rugged as it will work in a forested area, not on a beach
- be about $250 or less

Our lands have been inhabited by people for 100s of years so I'd like to be able to pick up coins, but also items that may be historical

I'm leaning towards the Garret Ace 250, but have seen some bad reviews here in the forum for that model so I'm sketchy on the purchase now.

I could offer a lot of suggestions, but not for anything from Amazon. I would never even dream of buying a detector from there. Too many better deals available from sponsor of the forum.

Same here I would buy from one of the sponsors as they will give you the best deal on a machine as for $250 price range you could get the F2 or the silver umax both from what I hear are awesome and the umax has a lifetime warrenty

I should imagine you can get virtually any detector via Amazon, so you can use your gift cards.
Nothing wrong with the Ace250. It has been around for a while, and there are better machines
available, although probably not for the price.

It's still a good machine. You should also find there is enough adjustment on the shaft for your needs.

Amazon is a great place to buy a detector, or anything else for that matter

my vote is a Tesoro Compadre, $160

A quick peek at Amazon's MD offerings shows only two in your price range that I could have any faith in: The Garrett ACE 250 and the Fisher F2. The Bounty Hunter models are likely better than some of those likely-built-in-China cheap metal detectors. Go to amazon.com if you must, but I think you would get a more satisfying MD from the sponsors here.

-- Tom