Getting back into the hobby in Tacoma/Puyallup, WA

Jabomb9

Hello everybody,

My name is Jay and I got my first detector for my golden birthday when I was nine. It was a Radio Shack model and I never really had the patience to learn it correctly back then, however, I picked up a Garrett AT Pro (sports package with the 5x8" coil) and a Pro Pointer AT. I did search and rescue growing up, hiked, and have been geocaching for most of my life and am interested in metal detecting to get out and explore some cool places.

I have searched around and have found some threads that suggest areas to start, but a lot of the topics are older, so I thought I'd post here and see if anyone has any updated lists?

I would love any links or tips for new people, and I would also like to get together with someone some day, but I am a locomotive engineer with BNSF so my schedule is all over the place. To start, I'm just looking for some places to start hunting. I went to Bradley Lake Park yesterday and found some pennies and fishing weights, but still lots to learn.

Thanks for reading!

Jay

Most areas have had county or city histories written, so visit the library and look for those. You will find a lot of old towns, businesses, parks, etc. in these. Also, just use the internet and your imagination. For example, there is a site called Oldmapsonline.org that has lots of old maps of every area. For your particular area, there seems to be a lot, including old USGS topographic maps, road maps, railroad maps, lots of stuff. Old USGS maps are great, as they show the locations of old schools, churches, houses and buildings that may not be there now - but the stuff people dropped there may still be.