Not sure what this round heavy thing is?

Oldfarm

Hello, I’m new to metal detecting and have been at it about a week. So far found 30+ wheats with the oldest being 1913. Also found 2 mercury dimes a 41 and 42. The strangest thing was a Philippines 1 centavos from 1930, no idea how that got into our farm yard in central Ky. All this has been in a 30’ x 30’ area in front of our house. What I need help with is this round heavy puck like item. I’m guessing lead? Any idea what it’s for?

Attachments

• 50BB1A8D-6D47-42FD-889E-76A326D2143F.jpeg
    50BB1A8D-6D47-42FD-889E-76A326D2143F.jpeg
    99.9 KB · Views: 458
  • 7F146213-B535-4BB4-8AFF-35DCD7DE9AAC.jpeg
    7F146213-B535-4BB4-8AFF-35DCD7DE9AAC.jpeg
    76.9 KB · Views: 419
I know! and that’s just our front yard. Still have another 75acres of the farm to cover.

The Philippines coin may have come back from the Pacific during WWII. A lot of guys brought coins back as souvenirs.

Cliff

Thanks for the reply, I was thinking that might be a possibility, though it would have been a 10 year old coin at the time of the war. On the puck thing, could it be silver? A nice 2lb chunk?

Thanks for the reply, I was thinking that might be a possibility, though it would have been a 10 year old coin at the time of the war. On the puck thing, could it be silver? A nice 2lb chunk?
That's true but I don't know what the turn over rate of coins was at that time. It's not uncommon to get a 10 year old coin in change now.

Cliff

The Philippines coin may have come back from the Pacific during WWII. A lot of guys brought coins back as souvenirs.

Cliff

Funny - I was detecting the yard at my family farm with my 5 year old. I got a great signal and pointed it out for him, thinking it was likely a clad coin. He walk over to me with a coin - a 1943 Australian penny. About the size of a quarter. I assumed the same thing regarding WW2 Pacific theater souvenir.