To notch or not notch....

John Madill

Elite Member
that's my question.

it was about 25 degrees warmer yesterday so i headed to the beach with my Simplex+.

The plan was to dig everything. I dug 36 targets in 90 minutes so my recovery time seemed pretty quick to me. By using a long handled scoop i never had to bend over or use my pinpointer.

But half of those targets were pull tabs or parts of pull tabs.

What might i be missing if i had notched those out?

Attachments

• warren.dunes.trash.jpg
    warren.dunes.trash.jpg
    64.9 KB · Views: 559
Gold rings would be the first thing that comes to mind. I am not a beach expert by any means but I will share a tip another member shared with me about beach hunting that made good sense and I found to work well. When you are digging nothing but pull tabs and other light targets, time to move on. Keep digging until you start finding the heavier stuff like fishing weights, coins, etc. and then start spiraling out your search area from there. You'll find that those targets will tend to be bunched together.

I cant accurately answer. My new Simplex and possibly the Gold Kruzer(?) have notch discrimination. I havent used it yet, but your thread has cued me to finally try it. When I do I'll give you a half-educated opinion, anyway. I imagine it depends alot on the detector youre using. I do know that most detectors Ive used have an evil "81" where aluminum and can tabs predominate. Im always temped to dig because its high but I got fooled alot. Then there were 86's that turned out to be aluminum but also sometimes were dimes or other coins. Quarters on my Teknetics Eurotek used to ring around 75 or 76. Not so on other detectors Ive owned. I found alot of quarters with the Eurotek and only one with my current four detectors. I definately think notch discrimination is something which should be used...but discriminately.

The tent stake and the foil gave nice numbers, ditto the pennies.