Target Selection Advice

Call Me V

Hopefully I can write this up in a way that makes sense. Last weekend/earlier this week I had the chance to search a really old yard. I really listened for the deep signals, but sometimes I felt like such a beginner. Even two years into hunting I'm still a relative beginner.

I always wondered what some of you more experienced hunters do when you come across a signal that's deep and sounds... ok... from one direction but not from another. Do you pass it by? Do you dig?

And a second question, what happens when you swing your coil over a spot, get a hit in one direction but not the other, change angles, once again get a spotty hit, and then the target disappears altogether and you can't get a signal regardless of what direction you're swinging from? Stupid question, but does the detector kind change its mind on the validity of the target? :?::?:

Anyhow, on a short break from work and thought I'd ask.

Happens to all of us V

I do find that usually when it is deep and sounds somewhat high on one side an not the other or mysteriously disappears It is probably an old nail, possibly bent. I would go into all metal and see if you are hitting Iron.

Worse case take a moment and dig.

Yes, if disappears probably smallish rusty thing and I don't dig.
If different in another direction and weak but repeats on each direction I dig.
Last one like that was a deep 14K gold and diamond ring that was plow bent in a farm field.

However, most times it is just a piece of can slaw or other junk.

detectorben on this forum recently posted a video using an Equinox on deep targets. I could repeat what has already been said here and add some more but his video is excellent. You can find it under the How To Use Your Metal Detector - Finding deep coins with Minelab Equinox.

good luck V
Jeff