Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Myers Depot Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Detectors and Gear > Make It or Fix It Yourself

Reply
  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2019, 02:26 PM
grubber grubber is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 22
Default Is it possible to add a volume control to Garrett Ace 300?

So far the only drawback to my new to me ace 300 is the volume control.
Can I hack it to have a control?
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 10-24-2019, 01:29 PM
Silversmith45's Avatar
Silversmith45 Silversmith45 is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Wichita, Kansas
Posts: 10,345
Default

A lot of headphones have volume controls.

__________________
CZ-6 Original Silver Sabre Tek Delta Oldest coins 1855 French Dix Centimes 1871 IH 1877cc Seated Liberty Dime 1888 V Nickel

Reply With Quote


1 members found this post helpful.
  #3  
Old 10-24-2019, 01:33 PM
EmuDetector's Avatar
EmuDetector EmuDetector is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: North VA
Posts: 136
Default

My AT pro is loud too, as far as I've seen there's no control. I leave my headphones connected all the time, but if I don't feel like wearing them I'll loop them on the handle and turn their volume up. It's loud enough at that point to hear everything going on for me.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 10-24-2019, 02:36 PM
bowwinkles bowwinkles is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,031
Default

piece of tape over the speaker.
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 10-24-2019, 02:51 PM
T-Man's Avatar
T-Man T-Man is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kettering, OH
Posts: 2,559
Default

Originally Posted by bowwinkles View post
piece of tape over the speaker.
I did that with my old Bounty Hunter before I had headphones, folded up some paper towel and electrical taped it over the speaker really tight. Toned it down some but without out it, it sounded like someone hitting thier horn.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 10-27-2019, 09:13 PM
007tallguy's Avatar
007tallguy 007tallguy is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada, eh.
Posts: 7,349
Default

Originally Posted by grubber View post
So far the only drawback to my new to me ace 300 is the volume control.
Can I hack it to have a control?
if you're using it without headphones, then the tape over the speaker works great!
if you're using it with phones, i'd say to either go with a pair with a built in volume control or use an in-line volume control.

Pete
Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 10-28-2019, 04:09 AM
JunkInTheTrunk's Avatar
JunkInTheTrunk JunkInTheTrunk is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NOT so Alpha Romeo 1 5 friendly California :(
Posts: 977
Default

Originally Posted by grubber View post
So far the only drawback to my new to me ace 300 is the volume control.
Can I hack it to have a control?
Volume control on the unit itself or volume control through headphones?

Personally, I like to use headphones and if you want volume control, they have headphones with volume control built-in.

__________________
"For the lessons one fails to learn during peacetime, one pays a high price in war." - Karl Donitz

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 10-28-2019, 07:07 AM
grubber grubber is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by JunkInTheTrunk View post
Volume control on the unit itself or volume control through headphones?

Personally, I like to use headphones and if you want volume control, they have headphones with volume control built-in.
Control for the unit itself. I have the headphones but sometimes I like to hear the outdoor sounds too while I'm out detecting.

I found a schematic here https://metaldetectingforum.com/showthread.php?t=42195
Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 10-28-2019, 11:57 AM
MuddyMo MuddyMo is online now
Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: North Missouri unfortunately
Posts: 561
Default

I believe but I DON'T KNOW for certain that you can splice a potometer or a 15-30 ohm resister in one of the wires going to the speaker. I plan on trying this on an old detector of mine. If so it would be an easy and useful mod.
Reply With Quote


  #10  
Old 10-28-2019, 10:08 PM
HistoryHippy's Avatar
HistoryHippy HistoryHippy is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Southwest ohio
Posts: 157
Default

If you try this use an audio potentiometer not linear.
Reply With Quote


  #11  
Old 10-29-2019, 11:48 AM
grubber grubber is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 22
Default

Originally Posted by MuddyMo View post
I believe but I DON'T KNOW for certain that you can splice a potometer or a 15-30 ohm resister in one of the wires going to the speaker. I plan on trying this on an old detector of mine. If so it would be an easy and useful mod.
Do we know the power rating for that speaker?
Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.