Shovel preference

Draddog

I’ve been using a lesche trowel for several years and love it. I’m definitely not getting any younger and would like to purchase a shovel. I’m new to Richmond VA and looking forward to doing some relic hunting. Thanks for any suggestions......Rex

Root Slayer for me.

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    23.6 KB · Views: 640
I like the Predator Tools Barracuda. The blade is right in the sweet spot. Little longer than a Sampson, but not huge like the Ranger.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have the 31" Lesche Sampson, along with the hand digger.
Both with a lifetime warrenty...can't beat that.

That's the exact combo I use,

The Sampson to dig the plug and the hand tool to cut into the plug or further dig into the hole.

I sometimes use just the hand tool if I feel the target is shallow.

Draddog asked the question I came here for, I am a lady who also isn't getting younger. I am new to detecting and right now am using a White's Digmaster. It's great but there's only so long I can kneel or squat on rocks or pebbled areas digging with the small tool, ouch. I'd like a shovel as well, but weight is important as I am most often on my own. I will check out these suggestions but does anybody know what I should be looking at for lightest? Less time on ground digging is what I'm after 😁

A lot depends on whether you focus on relic hunting or public grounds. A true relic hunter has a lot of levity in shovel length and color. Me, I own the mentioned Sampson 31", along with a Sampson 18". I can get away with one or the other, depending on how busy the parks and places are. BTW, I don't relic hunt myself. I ain't been on my knees detecting but 2-4 percent, over many years. A dedicated relic hunter hunting in open non public ground can easily use the 40", colorful shovels. Jm2c

The barracuda was the one I was considering. Predator tool has so many options.