Random: fishing in the Philippines? Hard travel case for AT Pro?

Bagelbites

Forum Supporter
Hey y'all. This is totally random, but I can't find much info online, so I thought I'd try here.

I'm going to the Philippines in September. Renting a car, and driving around Luzon for a month. Unfortunately I probably won't be treasure hunting, but I will bring my travel rod, as there are tons of lakes, rivers, streams, and of course the ocean. Light tackle, probably 6lb line.

For freshwater, I'll bring spinners, plastics, and maybe some topwater poppers. I have very little saltwater experience. What lures should I bring for just fishing from shore? Some areas will be sandy, some will be rocky. Any advice is appreciated!

If I do decide to bring the AT Pro, any advice for traveling with it? Do they make some kind of hard case for checking it on my flight?

I live on the island of Luzon during the winter. Been there for 18 years. I do have a couple fishing poles. Tried fishing a few times in the rivers with my nephew. Could not catch anything with the baits we use here. Everyone said use shrimp. We got some of them very small shrimp at the market. Used a bobber. Started to catch Talopia. The problem. Most of the rivers are very limited. We don't keep the fish. Just fun to catch.
As far as metal detecting, the beaches are OK to hunt. Now the problem with the beaches. FULL OF TRASH. No one picks there trash up. It is every place. Than there is all the kids all over you. Even trying to take your things out of your pockets. I stopped detecting over there. No one on our island has anything to loose.
Now for driving. Not the best idea. When the cops see Americans driving, they will stop you for what ever they can think of. They only want your money.
They drive like there are nuts. Pull out in front of you trying to cause an accident. You are American, it is your fault. You pay them on the spot. Bend over.