Technical help please 🥺 modify a pi pinpointer.

Adam24

Hello everyone,I have a PI pinpointer IAM trying to connect it to a regular metal detector coil other than the small sniffing nose installed on it,there is 3 wires attached to the nose of the pinpointer if I random connect to a bounty hunter tracker VLF search coil with 4 colored wires (red, black, white,and green plus another 5th not insolated bare wire)is this safe to do ? Is there a certain wire color I should follow,? Note that both the pinpointer and the bounty hunter tracker use 2 nine volts batteries.thank you all

Adam… Jim in Boston here. (Also a Spectrum XLT user)

Not sure what you’re hoping to do is possible, especially if your pinpointer is a different brand than the detector. Just because you find same color wires in both, that really means nothing, as I don’t believe there is an industry standard for wire colors/functions. Sounds very risky to me. I am not a detector designer, but do have a background in test engineering in the computer industry.

Interested to hear if other readers may have differing thoughts on this.

Good luck !

I have nothing of value to add, but this is the most interesting, yet hilarious, detector experiment that I have ever heard of :)

I'm sooo looking forward to seeing how this goes.

Last edited:
Thank you though I haven't visited the forum for long time if you can forward my post to a technical geek
I will appreciate.

Adam, can't help with your question but I am moving this thread to our All About Detectors sub forum hoping someone can assist you.

Adam, you can't do what you are trying to do. The BH coil simply is not compatible. Most likely the PI pinpointer uses a bifilar center-tapped coil and the only way to attach a bigger coil is to wind one yourself.

Ok but.