Newbie needs help picking my first machine.

wwbob

I'm brand new to this hobby and would like some input from those of you that know more then me.

I have narrowed my choice down to the Garrett ace 250 or the Whites Treasuremaster. I will be doing most of my hunting in parks and playgrounds.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

My only advice is to save money in your budget for a quality pin pointer. I started with a garret pro pointer and would not hunt without out it. When I first started researching the hobby I thought it was a waste to buy a small metal detector to carry with the big metal detector.

My only advice is to save money in your budget for a quality pin pointer. I started with a garret pro pointer and would not hunt without out it. When I first started researching the hobby I thought it was a waste to buy a small metal detector to carry with the big metal detector.

I'm planning on getting a pinpointer. I was looking at the whites bullseye 2.

Welcome from Buffalo New York , pay what you can easily afford to get started !
HH

Take baby steps. You will hear a lot about $1500 to $2500 detectors, those aren't the ones to start on. Try to keep it to $300 to $500 to start. As for pin-pointers I use Pro pointer AT and Whites TRX.

The garrett ace 250 and the whites treasuremaster are in the price range i want to stay in for my first unit.

If you haven't done so already call some of the sponsors on this site or send them a private message. When I bought my first detector I called Bart at Big Boys and he gave me a great price. They are sometimes controlled by the manufacturers as to what price they can advertise on their site but they can sometimes sell cheaper. I don't know current pricing but it is worth your time to let them know you are a member of the site and ask for pricing.

Just call Craig aka detectingMO ...he is very knowledgeable and will help you pick a machine that's perfect for you.