Which Tesoro (or something else)?

bindibadgi

I'm a noob, so I've been reading like a mad thing, and trying to figure out what would serve me as a beginner detector, possibly to be shared amongst the family as well. We’re all beginners (we’ve done a little panning for gold and emeralds etc, but no detecting).

Currently I'm leaning towards getting myself a Tesoro Compadre as my first detector. I'd like to learn without all the bells and whistles, and maybe they can come later. I've heard some sad things about Tesoro, but I still think that would make a good starter tool for me.

We have a few old gold towns around us, so a bit of prospecting would be on the cards, as would possibly some trips to the beach, but most work would likely be coinshooting around town I guess. The budget sadly won’t stretch to a PI machine for the gold, or to a second machine for now. I’ve convinced myself that the Tesoro Compadre would suit our needs as beginners, and not be outgrown even if we progress.

I'd consider stepping up to the Mojave, but detectors are expensive here in Australia (for my budget at least), so I don't know if I can justify it. What conditions do people think would make me wish I could adjust the sensitivity or the ground balance (or swap the coil)? I’m guessing I’d use those if I stray too close to the waterline at the beach, but it’s probably not worth it just for that. Are there areas/types of ground that would frustrate me with the Compadre, or is it likely to do most everything I’d come across?

I’ve heard some sad rumours about Tesoro, but their machines are well regarded, and sound like they are well built, even if the warranty might not be what it once was (if it can be honoured at all).