Newbie Question

Luke Bizzy

I'm reading through the posts on this forum looking for some ideas on where to to try detecting. So I'll ask the question, where do you go dirt fishing? Are you working areas on public property. What other kind of free access venues have you been using to hunt?

I'm just starting out with my new AT and have only tried a community soccer/baseball area Saturday morning. Had to leave when all the youth league teams and families started arriving.

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks

First:
Fill in your profile for a location, County, State, nearest city so we have an idea where you may have prospects.
Second: since you post here in the War Relic forum is this what you want to find???

Last: research your area with historical maps & Aerial photos to learn what was around. Then check for ownership and if government land (local, county, state) check rules and regs (but do not call and ask - lots write in the permissions sub-forum about this so read them).

If private them get permission from owners.

waltr gives good advice. You posted this in war relic section. Which is probably primarily CW related (we had no 'wars' in CA, or out west, to speak of). And CW (or Rev. war, etc...) sites could be literally anywhere. Eg.: private farmer fields, or variations of public land (city, state, county, fed, etc...). And even within each of those venues, is wide varieties of "types". Eg.: not all state land is "state park" land. Not all federal land is NPS. There's also NFS, BLM, etc.... So you'd need to be more specific.