Exploring an old bottle dump

Sand87

I thought I would do something a bit different, I've never done bottle digging before really and I don't know much about them...at all...unfortunately I forgot my spade so not much digging but if you spot anything interesting in the video please let me know! I'm gonna go back with my spade and dig some trenches! Any hints & tips let me know...!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=he2JBMgcIOI

WOW ! - amazing video :wow: Thanks for showing.
It is a pity o all there Victorian stuff is broken :no:
Next time take a digger spade with you.
HH from Germany,
Rammjäger

Thank you, it's so sad that most of it is smashed but people have advised me to bring a garden fork and start digging down...so there should be another video to follow, I will definitely go back as it was great fun.

Thank you, it's so sad that most of it is smashed but people have advised me to bring a garden fork and start digging down...so there should be another video to follow, I will definitely go back as it was great fun.

I have the feeling that you will find something very special there.
Please keep us updated :aok:

Good bottles have bubbles in the glass,also colored ones are more valuable.cork stoppers are great. Most screw lid type are junk. Also clear glass is less desirable.

Sand-nice video!
Looks like you have found yourself some nice bottles there and judging by the size of that dump, you may be finding a bunch more. You did keep most of the better ones. Stoneware bottles are always good, also keep the bottles that are embossed with names so they can be researched. As others said, the cork tops are the older ones you want to find, though some screwtops can be good depending what they are. That broken shard at 6:15 was a real heartbreaker. I would have grabbed that short brown stubby bottle that you threw back down at the end part of the video, it is interesting.