First detector purchase

bbuilder68

Im down to the Nokta Simplex+ and the Garrett Ace 400. I have a couple of questions though. What is the actual battery life on the Nokta ? and how long does it take to recharge ? Second question is how long do the batteries in the Ace last on average ? I will be using rechargeables. I know what the instruction manuals say, but I like to hear it from actual owners. Thank you

The Simplex charges up pretty quickly and the charge lasts a looong time.

I would choose it over the Garrett as it is waterproof.

i think the more likely competitor to the Simplex is the similarly priced MInelab Vanquish 440 which would give you multi frequency.

As John Madill said the battery in the simplex last a very long time and recharging goes pretty quick

I have no knowledge on the Ace 400 but I do the AT PRO which is a better detector then the 400 the simplex runs circles around the ATP the only thing comparable between the ATP and Simplex is the water proof, have never used a Vanquish so I will hold my comments on it, I do still have the simplex and the AT PRO the simplex is a fun little detector to use and at the price point it sets makes it the best bang for you buck, if you do decide to go with the simplex see if any of the dealers have a 9.5 x 5 inch coil and get one if they do, that is a deadly little coil.

and by the way welcome to friendly metal detecting forums LOL

As John Madill said the battery in the simplex last a very long time and recharging goes pretty quick