ON or OFF

metalhound

Be gentle as I am just starting out. After sweeping the detector and finding a target do you turn the unit off or do you leave it on before you set it down. Remember, I'm just learning the game. If it matters I use a White's Coinmaster with an average pinpointer. :?:

I leave my on and so does my buddy I detect with.

If the pin pointer/detector interfere with each other then just move the detector's coil further away.

Never thought about it but I always leave it on, especially as it will change my current detector settings. It's a knob style power/gain setting with a on/off switch, and a power cycle resets all settings for GB, discriminate, etc.

Thinking of anyone I've seen swing a detector, a few dozen, and none of them turn off a detector for target recovery either regardless of the detector.

Last edited:
It's unanimous then, "leave it on"! Thanx for the replies.

Interesting question though. I was curious to see what others said too, I've been surprised before. After a few days and more members respond to the thread who knows, maybe we have all been doing it wrong? :yes:

Be gentle as I am just starting out.

Feel free to ask anything, many of us started as complete noobs at some point before the Internet was available or even thought of. I started detecting regularly with my dad as kid in 1989 (I was 8) and finally allowed to go. People have been detecting since about the 1950s, and we have a few from nearly the beginning as members here too.

After all if anyone doesn't want to be bothered they won't respond to the question. It is the FRIENDLY Metal Detecting Forum, and I've yet to really see anything say otherwise. :D

I leave the detector on but switch the pinpointer off when its not being used.

If you use Bluetooth wireless headphones it would be a real pain to re pair them with the detector after every target.