I broke my really strange Silver GW Quarter drought.

Fooleeze

I don't really have any picture to share, but I'm happy to report that I FINALLY found a Silver GW Quarter today. I'm sure it's not a big deal for most of you, but for me this is a monkey that's been on my back for a while. And I'll tell you why. . .

I've been detecting for about 2 years now. I get out almost every weekend. My first silver was a SLQ. My second silver quarter was a 1906 Canadian Silver Quarter. My 3rd silver quarter was another SLQ. My fourth silver quarter was a Barber. No GW, which seemed really seemed strange. I've found a lot of good coins over these two years. . .

6 US large cents
1 morgan silver dollar
1 Barber half dollar
1 1856 Canadian Large cent
2 SLQs, 1 Barber Quarter
1 Barber Dime, 1 seated dime
maybe 10 merc's, and another ten silver rosies, even 1 1959 silver canadian dime
1 1887 canadian 5-cent silver
probably 100 wheaties
20 IHPs
two flying eagles
a 2-cent piece
10 v nickels
3 shield nickels
2 buffalo nickels
5 war nickels
Counterfeit 8 reale. . .

But after two years. . . no Silver GW quarter. Until today. I have no idea why it was so elusive, but I'm glad to have this monkey off my back.

Thanks for listening to my sob story. :) Hopefully there are plenty more silvers coming my way!

Last edited:
WOW! You sure have found some nice old coins in a few years there Fooly! More than most..That Morgan dollar specifically...!:shock:..

Well, now that you got your GWQ, you can set your sights on a Walker and a BF Half! You already got the Barber! :laughing:

Thanks, Mud-puppy. Yeah, that's kinda my point, I've come across a lot of nice coins. . . but for some reason couldn't find that GW (Which I would have assumed would be one of my more common silver finds). Hopefully that's the start of a great year.