south alabama

I live in Pensacola. I get over that way for work often. I’d be interested if you’re still looking. Let me know.

I live in Foley and would like to get together sometime. I am new to metal detecting and I am having trouble finding some areas to go.

I live in Foley and would like to get together sometime. I am new to metal detecting and I am having trouble finding some areas to go.

Do what I do...because if I was in Foley, I'd be all over this. Search for your city on Bing or Google maps. Skip the satellite images and just use the road version. Look for any green-shaded areas. Those are usually (but not always...golf courses are NOT public property, and state or federal lands are usually off limits) good to go for beeping, you are just subject to your level of comfort.

So, I did that for Foley and found some places I would jump on:

1) Foley Sports Tourism Complex. Soccer fields are my favorite. I've found more and better stuff on and around them than baseball and football fields.

2) City of Gulf Shores Sportsplex. Keep in mind when beeping baseball fields that most of the people are OFF the field...watching the games usually from chairs parked along the sideline fences. Beep those areas, for sure. I've not had much luck on the actual fields, except along the fences from about 10 yards past 1st and 3rd base. Towards and behind home plate from about that mark, beep the crud out the dirt.

3) Aaronville Park. Looks like the basketball courts don't have a fence around them. That's good. Because peeps lay their jewelry, coins, etc. on their shirts or backpacks while playing, forget about that, and just grab their stuff and lose coins and jewelry. Beep around those.

4) Foley Sports Complex. That's a new layout that I've never seen...5 baseball fields around a central area. I'd call that a rose petal arrangement. Go beep that!

5) Melvin Roberts Park. Ditto. See above.