What is the deal with multi frequency metal detectors?

Metal detecto

Elite Member
Okay, here is the deal with me. I'm a guy that wants to catch on to the new trend, and the trend right now is multi-frequency. I am a proud owner of my simplex, but my simplex seems a bit off compared to minelab's vanquish 440. So here are the questions.

1) What is the difference with multi frequency? It sounds cool, sure, but does it DO anything?

2) Do you feel anything different with the multi freq. detector, except the huge bragging right I guess?

3) Do you get more depth, balance, sensitivity, etc. with mult freq. detectors, if you have one? :?:

Thanks,
Metal detecto

Multi frequency is not a "trend"; its been around for at least a decade.

I am not an electrical engineer, but the general theory is that as different targets respond better to different frequencies (e.g., silver responds better to lower frequencies), it makes sense to shoot a range of frequencies into the ground to give you a higher chance to hit more stuff. I also believe certain frequencies deal with mineralized ground better, tho I am not certain on this point.

To answer your third question, I am quite happy with my E-Trac. It performs much better than any single frequency detector I have used. Moreover, it has 11 channels which let you shift the frequencies slightly, which can be quite powerful in certain situations, tho the actual mechanism is not disclosed by Minelab.