Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Myers Depot Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Metal Detecting > Coinshooters and Relic Hunters

Old 06-23-2011, 01:59 AM

Default All Metal vs. Notch vs. Auto-Notch - Advice?

Hi,

Im new to metal detecting, and have a Pioneer 202. I typically am hunting in the Auto-Notch mode, which screens out most of the garbage and Im able to get pretty good readings on coins 4-8 inches down. The coins Id like to find the most are Indian Heads and of course anything w/ Lady Liberty on it.

My question is, by operating in auto-notch is it screening out certain old coins as well? Missing out on jewelry? Should I be going All-metal and digging everything? Just curious what methods you all use. Any insight or advice would be great!!

Thanks so much for the help.

CincinnatiKid

Old 06-23-2011, 06:30 AM

Default Ive had more sucess with all metal

I have a titan xd 2000 which is simmilar to your machine .... found a gold high school ring on all metal mode . it came up as a pull tab. In my opinon i would dig all till you get stress by all the garbage . then notch it

Old 06-23-2011, 07:05 AM

I have the bigger brother to your 202 & it works very similar. I test theories on my buddies back yard, that has an old foundation, which I hunt like my own and also a coin garden.

So here is what I've learned:

1. Auto Notch: I use this only if I'm "cherry picking" a site or the hunt is about over and I'm looking for another good target or two.

2. Notch: I will notch out nails & will investigate ALL signals above it. If the target is "iffy", hit the discrimination button again to accept all targets and swing slow.

3. All Metal: This is where the 202 and 505 differ. The 505 has an all metal mode that sounds louder as you get near a target. The 202's all metal mode is the Discrimination mode with the discrimination knob turned the whole way to the left to accept all metal.