Strange rifle brass

beam

I'm by no means an expert in rifle ammo, but this seemed odd to me.

I tried to id it via google and wikipedia with no luck.

The end has the markings LC 62

Any ideas or is this just a common round? It seems like the bullet would be way small for the size of powder that the shell can hold.

IMG_4186.jpg

IMG_4187.jpg

IMG_4188.jpg

LC headstamp usually means Lake City. It looks like a round that would be used during a salute, like at a military funeral. No bullet, just a bang.

What you found is a 30 caliber, blank cartridge, that has been fired. It was manufactured in 1962 at the Lake City arsenal. The cross-hair stamp identifies it as a NATO cartridge.

Goofy has it right...

Blank round for certain... but older than the .556 that are for the M16 today.

Yep ...Blank alright .....alll shapes n sizes....Like this .30 cal .

Attachments

• 002.JPG
    002.JPG
    177.8 KB · Views: 1,067
Thanks to everyone for all your help! This has been almost as fun as finding an old coin!

Are machine gun links blue now? They were black when I got out. That's only been 41 years ago. Why blue?

That's the parkerized finish on the links, looks like the camera washed it a bit and gave it a blue tone but the links are still black. I was a 60 gunner back in the day and the blanks are easily identifiable due to no projectile.

That's the parkerized finish on the links, looks like the camera washed it a bit and gave it a blue tone but the links are still black. I was a 60 gunner back in the day and the blanks are easily identifiable due to no projectile.

I knew we'd have a guy who'd shot one of these things chime in. Digger, I never would have guessed your answer but it does sound right.

Jennings

I knew we'd have a guy who'd shot one of these things chime in. Digger, I never would have guessed your answer but it does sound right.

Jennings

Oh yeah... I loved that weapon. I think I can still take one apart and put it together with my eyes closed..:D