Opinion on this "dug" colonial shoe buckle. Update, it's a fake find!

FreeBirdTim

Elite Member
What's you opinion on this "dug" colonial shoe buckle? Seems WAY too shiny and tarnish free to have been dug.

Attachments

• image - 2022-07-05T020537.686.jpg
    image - 2022-07-05T020537.686.jpg
    14.7 KB · Views: 737
  • image - 2022-07-05T021319.465.jpg
    image - 2022-07-05T021319.465.jpg
    11.4 KB · Views: 733
Last edited:
I have 2 solid silver colonial shoe buckles that were pretty shiny when I found them. Still had a good amount of tarnish though. I gave them both a light rinse with plain water and then put them in display cases. I can't say I've ever found one that the chape wasn't made out of iron. Both brass or silver. I'm by no means an expert, but that buckle looks more modern. This is of course just my opinion, and could be completely inaccurate :lol: it looks like there is a mark in the bottom portion of the back side, perhaps sterling? That would be the only way I see a buckle that old coming out somewhat untarnished.

Tim
Is any part of that buckle made of iron, i.e., magnetic? Maybe it’s not yours and all you have is the photos of someone else’s ‘dug’ buckle? Do you or the finder know what metal the frame is made of?

Looks like a Victorian era sash buckle to me

Yup, the frame on colonial buckles is usually much thinner than that one. He said he dug it from a colonial era cellar hole, but maybe that was just a guess on his part.

I've dug a couple of silver plated colonial era buckles, but they didn't come out of the ground shiny. Here's one I found in 2014. Cleaned up really nice, but prtty grungy out of the ground.

Attachments

• shoe buckle.jpg
    shoe buckle.jpg
    13.2 KB · Views: 618
  • [000002] (2).jpg
    [000002] (2).jpg
    37 KB · Views: 621
Some people try to cash in on youtube. It's like a guy who used to be on here digging the jar of silver coins .Man get a job!

Isn't this the same guy who finds silver dollars every hunt?