Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Hollands Brook Metal Detectors
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Metal Detecting > General Hobby Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2009, 10:32 AM
catskillcomics's Avatar
catskillcomics catskillcomics is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Saugerties NY
Posts: 342
Default DFX HELP! Reset Factory Default

Hi folks, I just purchased a used DFX, which I am really excited about.
It seems the former owner who didn't use this DFX much, but did tweeked a lot of things, is there a way to get my DFX back to the original Default settings?

__________________
2010 Silver count 106

Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 02-17-2009, 10:36 AM
FXDiz's Avatar
FXDiz FXDiz is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fleming Island FL (formerly called Hibernia)
Posts: 2,706
Default

If I remember correctly, you remove the battery and leave it out for a period of time like 30 minutes. I'm visiting my mother, or I would look it up for you. I found it in Digging Deeper with the DFX. I didn't bring it with me though. I'm sure one of the DFX users can either verify this is the way to do it, or if not let you know how to do it.

__________________
Whites V3i & Garrett ATPro (His) Garrett Ace 250 (Hers) Fisher F2 (mom's) Garrett Treasure Ace 100 **Vincit qui patitur**

Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 02-17-2009, 11:39 AM
Lowjiber's Avatar
Lowjiber Lowjiber is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 5,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FXDiz View Post
If I remember correctly, you remove the battery and leave it out for a period of time like 30 minutes. I'm visiting my mother, or I would look it up for you. I found it in Digging Deeper with the DFX. I didn't bring it with me though. I'm sure one of the DFX users can either verify this is the way to do it, or if not let you know how to do it.
That will work. The factory programs are on an EPROM (permanent) and the user programs are stored on an EEPROM (erases when battery is removed).

Leave the batteries out for a bit to allow the circuit capacitance to "reset".

__________________
John Ace 250, Prizim III, F2, MXT, Vision, Surfmaster Pro, DP Wader

"There remains a finite number of straws that can be placed on a camel's back."

Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 02-17-2009, 12:09 PM
RickO's Avatar
RickO RickO is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYS-Catskill Mountains
Posts: 20,055
Default

Yep... above is correct... just supporting the advice... good luck... RickO
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:10 PM
nixologist nixologist is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Default

The first four programs can't be changed from the factory settings if you just load coin,coin @ jewelry, etc. they are the original settings.You tweak from those for the remaining spots.
Reply With Quote


  #6  
Old 02-17-2009, 03:22 PM
Lightningjack's Avatar
Lightningjack Lightningjack is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 5,526
Default

With my old Whites XLT to restore to factory settings all you do is turn it on and remove the battery pack then put the batteries back in and your done...I would think it would be the same with the DFX...

__________________
E-Trac/Garrett At-Pro...

Reply With Quote


  #7  
Old 02-17-2009, 04:33 PM
TonyinCT TonyinCT is offline
Elite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,899
Default

Actually if you turn the detector on and then remove the batteries it should reset almost immediately.

__________________
TonyinCT

Reply With Quote


  #8  
Old 02-17-2009, 06:06 PM
Schrecky's Avatar
Schrecky Schrecky is offline
Full Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Corry, PA
Posts: 249
Default

If the orginal owner "tweaked" the the programs he would have had to save those revised programs in one of the 4 EEPROM slots. You can not overwrite the the 5 programs in the permanent EPROM memory. Pulling the battery will not reset the 4 programs in the EEPROM slots back to the orginal programs (DP-Silver, Hi-Trash, Demo, Hi-Pro). If you want to have those 4 programs back look in your manual on page 56 and manually key the settings in on your DFX and then save that program back into the EEPROM slot.

__________________
Whites Spectra V3, Minelab Excalibur 1000

Reply With Quote


  #9  
Old 02-17-2009, 06:58 PM
catskillcomics's Avatar
catskillcomics catskillcomics is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Saugerties NY
Posts: 342
Default

Thanks everyone for your help.. I did the battery thing, I just wanted to make sure I was working on the original settings, not on someone elses. I went out today to the same spot as yesterday and used the deep silver & trash settings to get a feel of the different options.
Getting a new machine is like getting a new girlfriend, trying to figure out all the little quirks, and noises, which (at times) can give you mixed signals

__________________
2010 Silver count 106

Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F2 Reset ? dumbdigger How to Use Your Metal Detector 10 02-12-2014 01:10 PM
AT-Pro Default settings please??? Gorgar How to Use Your Metal Detector 12 12-09-2012 06:58 PM
Whites QXT Reset? OZARKS How to Use Your Metal Detector 2 10-05-2011 01:51 AM
Any one ever do a Factory Reset on Explorer HighTone All About Detectors 4 06-17-2011 09:40 AM
XLT Reset? 2044mustang How to Use Your Metal Detector 4 04-24-2009 11:17 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.