Friendly Metal Detecting Forums   Big Boys Hobbies
List all sponsors

Go Back   Friendly Metal Detecting Forums > Detectors and Gear > All About Detectors

Old 07-22-2013, 04:46 PM

Default Fisher F2 Sniper Coil

I just read a very interesting post by Carol K about coin depth. I'm still a super newb to detecting so I hope it's alright to ask some questions. I'm only doing this about a month now, and I've only found clad so far. Here's the thing, I've been hunting almost extensively near river beds that flood very often. Is there a chance that because the ground I've been hunting is saturated so much that older coins may simply be sinking too deep into the ground for the 4" sniper coil to find? Can someone with the f2 and sniper coil give me some insight on this here. How old of coins have you found with the F2? Can you remember your location? Were you say on top of a mountain that never floods, or have you found older coins (Pre-1940 let's say) near river/creek beds that flood occasionally? I would really like to find some older coins and be equipped atleast the best I can to do so. I cannot afford any higher end units, so I just want to make the best of what I have. The soil here in PA makes my 8 in coil act up a lot, and I don't have a pro pointer of my own yet.

Old 07-22-2013, 05:10 PM
Elite Member

Location: KANSAS.. by way of Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay and Alabama

Quote:
Originally Posted by UnsanityINC View Post