Beaches and Pull-Tabs

chief-w

I am relatively new to the hobby and just getting back into "the-swing" of things but I have a question about beaches and pull-tabs. I am finding huge numbers of these things (probably getting close to 150) on the beaches where I frequent just in my last 5 hours of detecting. listening to the advice here, I dig everything...

I am making an assumption that if I am finding pull-tabs that the area probably also has gold as well. To date I have found a lot of clad, to include nickels which are near the same conductance, but not a single ring. Is this a good assumption to be making?

Unfortunately, no. The presence of pulltabs in no way is an assurance of there being gold in the same area. Gold is heavy, pulltabs are light. Not to say that you won't find in the same area but normally if you are getting only light stuff like pulltabs it means the beach is sanded in and the gold will be out of reach. If however you are pulling these pulltabs from way down in the compact sand/mud then there might be some good stuff mixed in there too. The ocean tends to sort things out according to size and weight though...for finding gold, chunks of lead and fishing weights would be a better sign than pulltabs. Though the reality is that the infernal pulltabs are *everywhere*. :lol: I think the connection that people make between pulltabs and gold is that they can often give off the same sounding signal, hence having to 'dig it all'. You discriminate out pulltabs and you discriminate out gold...doesn't mean however the presence of one guarantees the presence of the other. :yes:

Thank you for the reply. I was going on the premise that because they are so many and close to the same signal, that nobody is digging there. The beaches are quite active and I have dug them as deep as 12-14 inches.:(