Upgrading to new detector advice

iwhitey

Hi all,
I'm new to the world of detecting and I'm trying to read all I can. I'm 38 years old and live with my wife and two daughters in Spencerport, NY. I've always wanted a metal detector but just never seemed to be able to find the time to research and get one. Beside's, everyone I've told about it has always said "You want a what? Are you turning into an old man or something?". I bet some of you have heard something like that before.

I recently found an old White's Coinmaster 4/DB at a garage sale for $30 and bought it. Now I'm hooked. Well, I should say I'm hooked only when my 10 year old daughter "allows" me to use it. For some reason she thinks it's hers and every time I try and use it she insists on using it herself. However, I have gotten some time in and I really enjoy it. So far we have found a rusted hunk of sheet metal, a quarter, 3 pennies, a grease fitting, a garden hose spout and two Matchbox cars.

I'm now looking for advice on a mid-level detector. I think if I'm going to spend the money, I want to get something beyond the entry level detectors. The Coinmaster is nice, but it's a bit short for me and I find myself stooping over even at it's full length. I'm 6'1". I'm going to keep the Coinmaster so that my daughter and I can hunt together.

I'm going to scour the forums for advice, but do any of you have suggestions for a mid-level detector? I don't mind spending $500 - $700 for a good one.

Thanks and I look forward to spending some time here.

Mark

Re: New member needs advice

Hi Mark. I would look at the Minelab Xterra's series or the Whites MXT. I sell both of them and have used them all. You can get a tall man rod with the MXT to help since you're a bit taller. If you'd like to discuss this further give me a call or send me a message. The Garrett 1500 is another detector to consider in that price range. You can check most of them out on my site. If you need any other help please let me know. :yes: