Newbie Needs Help

J

Jeanabelle

Hello folks. This forum seems to have the best folks around. I am very new to this hobby. I just bought a new Ace 250. I have read the manual and a number of books relating to detecting. I am still very confused.

I recently purchased an OLD,(over 200 yrs) farmhouse on 25 acres in rural Maine. The house was in the same family until I bought it. It is supposed to be the 3rd oldest house in the area. The woman I bought it from gave me pictures of the house with horses and wagons out front. It has a four bay carriage house as well. It had, (burned down in 1959), a 100'x60' barn.

While preparing the house for a B&B that we will be opening, I found old items in the yard which prompted my purchase of the Ace 250. This metal detector constantly goes pinging everywhere I attempt to use it. I have dug up many many relics, such as old horsehoes, bottles, a silver flack, square nails, baking tins, buckles, door hinges, an animal trap and many other items. I have yet to find a coin. Do I need to set the discriminator in a different direction?

This land was almost all farm land and logging camps. What would my settings be on? Thanks for any help. If anyone is in the area, Stop by and give me a hand.
Jeannie in Maine

I don't have a 250 but you will have to clear a section of those larger relics before you will propbably find any coins. Some of those relics are probbably worth more than the coins anyway. Rob

Welcome Jeanabelle.

Sounds like you're doing OK as far as settings go because you're finding stuff. Sounds to me as if you just need to hit the right places. To increase your odds for finding coins search for places where they have a better chance of being lost.

Some examples would be the clothesline, kids playground and around the front walk of the main house. As has been posted some times you got to clear out some of the other stuff before the coins can be found.

And ...... gosh, I hate to say this to a lady but,