Tesore Sidewinder Umax Setup for Beginner??

73cj5

Elite Member
Just got a tesorso sidewinder umax and was reading the instructions on line and had a question:

What would be the best setting to start out with. i am a beginner, but do not want to be digging tons of junk as my hole cutting techniques need some work as well.

Mode Switch - DISC
DISC LEVEL - 4
SENSITIVITY - any

Here is the link to the manual:

http://www.tesoro.com/info/manuals/older/umaxsidewinder/

Any help or tips appreciated, Thanks !

The Sidewinder µMax is a real nice detector, toss a few coins,pieces of jewelry,pull tabs,nails,etc on the ground where you can see them (with the discrimination @ minimum setting) and swing over them practicing your pinpointing skills. The Sidewinder has the red pinpoint button as you know & pinpoints really well. You can google or search the forums about something called detuning, once learned (easy to do) you can pinpoint the head of a needle ;):yes:. The Sidewinder µMax looks as sweet as it sounds :wow:

Attachments

• sidewinder4.JPG
    sidewinder4.JPG
    15 KB · Views: 1,732
Ski,

Thanks for the info!

I did a search and read all of your posts before picking it up:)

It looks like a nice little unit and the pinpoint is dead on!

Do you ever use the all metal mode? Beach maybe?

What about the retune?

Thanks again!

Ski,

Thanks for the info!

I did a search and read all of your posts before picking it up:)

It looks like a nice little unit and the pinpoint is dead on!

Do you ever use the all metal mode? Beach maybe?

What about the retune?

Thanks again!
I never use all metal mode with any detector & I don't beach hunt (none around me). This is Wednesday, my night out to have a few with the boys. When I get back home I will "dig up" what I can about detune (not retune, see I am still sober :lol:), not going to guarantee that I won't slur my words but I will do my best to explain what I can. That's if I don't end up like this guy

Attachments

• drunk.jpg