• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

DIY Waterproof/resistant Enclosure?

grouperguy

Hello all,

I am new to MD'ing and new to this forum. I live on the west coast of Florida and have been breaking in my new Minelab 705 at the beach for the last week. Definitely a learning experience, but starting to get a feel for the machine.

Given that spring break is just around the corner, I figured that I could improve my hunting results by actually going into the water. No, the 705 is control box is not waterproof (or even water resistant?), and I don't want to take a high risk of trashing it. But I figured there must be a way to fabricate a waterproof box that would offer sufficient protection to allow me to wade up to my waist or so.

I've toyed with a few different ideas, but I was thinking of doing this:

1. Purchase a waterproof electrical box at Depot/Lowes. It has a cover that is removable with four screws and has a gasket/o-ring seal.
2. Install waterproof connectors for the coil cable. I figure this might require me to actually cut off the OEM connector, but I don't see a problem with this if done correctly.
3. Either install a waterproof connector for my headphones or permanently mount it to the box using a waterproof fitting.
4. Devise some sort of harness/mount where the box will be as high above the water as possible but still within reach of the existing cable length. Extending the cable length may allow me to actually have it positioned above my head. yes, the hot college girls watching the sunset might look at me like an alien, but whatever.
5. Create my own shaft/coil mount

Pros:
1. Would provide sufficient protection for the control box to allow me to hunt in the water
Cons: