Need help with getting a detector for gold prospecting....

Turbo721

Hey all,

I am looking for a metal detector to look for detecting for gold nuggets alongside streams/stream beds as well as some coin searching in public areas......

I am not sure if a stream bed that's dried up would be consider heavily mineralized or not....

I am looking to spend about $400 max....I have a guy who is willing to sell me an Minelab Xterra 30....but I am not sure if this would work for gold in a stream bed? Would I have to get a new Coil for this job? Does this detector have the proper frequencies to detect gold nugget in stream beds?

Other detector recommendations are welcome (as well as what accesories I would need to do the job I am looking to do with the detector)...I am new to the understanding of coils and what coils do what and hat coils to use in what instance, also what frequency to use for the gold prospecting I am doing...

Thanks and let me know any suggestions...

Give Bart a call. He'll help you choose the right tool.

Bart Davis Friendly Metal Detecting forum sponsor
Bigboyshobbies.net 405-206-9010 [email protected]
Authorized Minelab Metal Detectors Fisher Metal Detectors Teknetics Metal Detectors Garrett Metal Detectors
Call, Email or Text. Mention Friendly Forum when you call for best prices.

If you're looking to prospect, you need a machine with a high freq. + ground balancing. No machine under $400 has both. Closest thing would be the Vaquero.

I suggest buying used. Check out the classifieds section on this forum.

Hey all,

I am looking for a metal detector to look for detecting for gold nuggets alongside streams/stream beds as well as some coin searching in public areas......

I am not sure if a stream bed that's dried up would be consider heavily mineralized or not....