• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

Coming over from another site... New person

Skippy SH13

Forum Supporter
Hi All,

I'm coming over from another forum website, which recently has had a spate of 10 year plus threads all getting "bumped" to create what looks like new content. It was so irritating, I figured I just needed to cut the cord, and find a new forum website. After checking out a few, I've decided that Friendly Metal Detecting Forum might be the place for me!

I'm relatively new to the hobby, but have hit it with a passion. This last Christmas, with a work bonus and weeks of research, I bought an ACE 350.

My first few outings were pretty typical for normal newbies... you know the type, *8 cents on the first trip, 13 cents on the second* and then it started to get good. I was (and continue to) only hitting local parks, and on my 4th outing, I found a silver ring! I was so incredibly excited. Dreams of $$ filled my head, I went out to Amazon, and discovered it was worth about $3 new. LOL

Still, though, I was completely hooked! By the end of January, I'd bagged 3 gold rings, 2 silver ones, a titanium, and a tungsten-carbide, along with $81 in clad. I was hitting the parks about 3 times a week.

Since that time, I've probably found several dozen rings (mostly junk, but fun anyway), another gold, and a couple more tungsten carbide and titanium rings.

Early February, I sold the gold rings for $300 and took part of it and bought my son an ACE250 so he could come along. I'd already had two Garrett Pro Pointers though (he would dig points I found, and then I'd continue on). Up till that point, my family and friends would just snicker at my "hobby," even when I told them I was finding gold rings... they'd say things like "well, it's only worth something if you SELL it. *snicker snicker*"