Good Places For Beginner To Hunt??

cs1966

MD Newbie here :) Was wondering what everybody's thoughts are as far as the best places to hunt? Schools, churches, old homesteads/houses, parks? Edges of streams, rivers? Any and all hints & tips would be much appreciated! What are the rules as far as md's in state forests or state parks (in Virginia)?

The best place for a beginner to start is in the backyard... a good place to practice filling your holes too. :D

Once you've cleared your yard of trash and goodies, try an area close by that would not be trashy and drive you nuts!

You don't have to travel far to find some good finds. My best finds were found on a riverbank two blocks from my house.

Tot lots! They are all over, give up good targets, easy digging, etc etc. There's no point hunting somewhere good before you have a remotely decent idea of how your detector works to begin with, and in my opinion tot lots (along with your own yard) are the best places to learn.

I started in my yard but my wife stoped me when she figured out I was digging in her lawn and flower beds... So I went to the park that my brother hunts a lot, found some clad, went back again found some more, then I went to a beach and found a small gold ring and sme more clad..

I then moved up to a trading post site where I am still digging and finging a lot of cool stuff.

Good luck :D

Playgrounds, Parks, Beaches, anywhere really. Good Luck!

Well, I was going to suggest the beach but it looks like you are in northwestern VA, so that idea isn't going to do you much good!

Unfortunately it doesn't look like VA state parks (like most state parks) are not particularly detecting friendly. Here is the regulation I found listed on the FMDAC website:
"§1.13 Metal Detectors

No person shall use a metal detector or similar device within a park without the express written permission of the Park Authority."