• Forum server maintanace Friday night.(around 7PM Centeral time)
    Website will be off line for a short while.

You may need to log out, log back in after we're back online.

To notch or not to notch, that is the question

leeh

Hello everyone, thanks for any advice in advance. I am a newbie trying to select my first detector. I am drawn to White's Prizm line of detectors, specifically the Prizm V. I like this detector because it is mid-range in price, and it has an easy to read display. It has around 8 different icons (nail, foil, penny, etc.) that identify the target. Some targets overlap such as bottlecaps, pull tabs and jewelry. It is my understanding that this is due to the "magnetic frequency" of these alloys, and no detector can discriminate between them. I had planned to use the Prizm's nice notching feature to eliminate nails, bottlecaps, foil, and pulltabs, but I read an interesting field test on the Prizm V last night. It said that sometimes a pull tab would actually turn out to be jewelry. That iron could be gold. I think the same could be said for bottlecaps and foil. As I don't want to overlook jewelry and gold, I'm wondering now if I should hunt in all-metal mode (i'm assuming that means nothing notched out). I think i'm seeing now why the more expensive models cost more. Do they discriminate between a pulltab and jewelry? Any advice would be appreciated.

LeeH

iv'e only been at this for 2 years but,, it's my understanding, and from experience that there's really no way to tell the difference,, especially on small gold items,, even gold rings can be tricky.....i would imagine i've missed a gold chain on two also,, because i don't dig every signal i hit, but in the tot-lots especially i'm working on that.. also from what i understand get the best model you can afford..
i'm a true beliver in the mxt myself ...but with the right adjustments, any machine can be your best friend.. :D :D :D :D :D dig,dig,dig..... :D