Is a pin-poiner necessary"""

Not really, but a pinpoinTer is a good idea:lol:
Grammar police:police:

X2. I did go a short while without using a pinpoinTer, but once I acquired one, I've never looked back! A LOT of items we dig really blend in with the surrounding ground and a pp'Ter will really increase your recovery time! :yes:

Just buy what you can afford, cant miss it if you've never had it.

Thanks all. I am new to the hobby, so i value the opinions!!! Got my Leche tool dirty today, but still learning my machine....It will come!! HH!!

A pinpointer isn't a vital tool, but it helps a great deal. Here in Florida, the soil is loose sand, little different from the sand at the beach. I don't really need a lot of range in a pinpointer, spending $100 or more is just frivolous for what I really need. Harbor Freight sells a Centech pinpointer for under $20, and works very well for my basic needs. Spent $127.50 on a Garret Propointer, but it failed after 7 months, sent it back, great customer service. Unfortunately, the replacement only lasted 6 months, just went back to the Centech, does what I need.

Pinpointers in general, will help you locate your target in the dirt, since it's going to be visually similar. Saves you from groping dirty, which is messy, but also a little risky, even if you wear gloves. There are sharp things mixed in with the treasure, which your detector might not tell you about.

You can learn to pinpoint with you main detector, and get within an inch or two, with a little practice, using the "X-Method". After gouging a few coins, you'll want to dig a little bigger plug, just incase it's something you want to keep (greater value without the digger damage). If you are in a hurry, or into some sort of competition, spending $150 on a pinpointer might be appealing, shave a few precious second off your recovery time.

HTML:
You do not want to get into "a grammar police" thing with me...Trust me on that one......You are seriously unequipped.