Digging old home sites with loads of trash

Inferno

I am fairly new to detecting and looking for advise on detecting old home sites. I have gone to a couple and there is so much big junk in the ground (corrugated steel, metal buckets, old fencing, etc.) that it seems impossible to find my target which is old coins. I use a Eurotec Pro with the 11" DD coil and because everything is so big it reads 90s in almost every swing and the ground is so littered with old iron the iron indicator stays on constant. I even try to cherry pick digging only the small targets I can find with descrimination set to max but there are so few going that route that I have found no success. Does anyone have any suggestions when hunting these ultra trashy sites?

Never had an Eurotec Pro, but when you hit very trashy spots the small football or the 5 in round coils are necessary. I use the 5 in on my CZ and F75 and the 6 in on my ctx. Also with large iron i usually get an over load tone. I pulled a merc right off the edge of a door hinge with the CZ, i almost did not dig as i thought it was a high tone false off the end of the big iron.. But i went to pinpoint and with the 5 in coil i was able to hear the signal rise and peak then lower just a bit then back to really high pitch, telling me that there were two distinct targets next to each other. I would imagine with your machine the non ferrous items close to iron will lower your Visual ID so beware of skipping mid VDI numbers that seem like trash, you could be missing a good target. But it also depends how much you want to dig. If you tire of digging then only dig real high tones that are repeatable. Just some basic things you can do, also i do not know how much time you have on the machine but it takes many hours to learn a machine well. So do not give up, keep swinging and digging. Good luck!

Yes, most suggestions will say get a smaller sniper coil.