Help me find a detector

hobbz

I'm pretty new to the hobby, but have already realized my bh tracker iv isn't the best. I live in eastern ky and the soil is hard clay. I plan on coin and relic hunting. Most will be done in the woods and old farm fields. There won't be any beach hunts as there aren't any around.

I will have around $500 to spend on a new detector and want to get something that will suite my area best.

Thanks for any help.

Hobbz-garage.com

You will get dozens of responses to your question of which detector to buy. I use a Teknetics T2 myself as my main machine, but in the $500 range I have heard great things about the Garrett AT Pro and AT Gold. The most important thing is not which detector you use, but learning to use the detector you have. Pick one, learn what sounds produce what items and refine your learning to the point you dig very little trash. The one single thing that is key to finding anything is to get a decent pin pointer. A good one will cost $100 or more, but is worth every cent. A good sturdy digger is pretty important too.

You will get dozens of responses to your question of which detector to buy. I use a Teknetics T2 myself as my main machine, but in the $500 range I have heard great things about the Garrett AT Pro and AT Gold. The most important thing is not which detector you use, but learning to use the detector you have. Pick one, learn what sounds produce what items and refine your learning to the point you dig very little trash. The one single thing that is key to finding anything is to get a decent pin pointer. A good one will cost $100 or more, but is worth every cent. A good sturdy digger is pretty important too.

X2,