fisher 1266x

wildcat

Hello everyone, I'm new to metal detecting and to this forum.
I've bought my first detector about a month ago and i've gone out hunting only 3 times. I bought a compadre which I still have to break in, however I came across a 1266x on craigslist which I bought, paid 175 for it. Is there anyone who can guide me on what are the best settings for this detector? I'm mainly searching for jewelry, coins, silver coins. I live in central san Joaquin valley in Ca. I've read very good reviews on this detector and cant wait to get out there and hunt. Thanks

Frank

Hello everyone, I'm new to metal detecting and to this forum.
I've bought my first detector about a month ago and i've gone out hunting only 3 times. I bought a compadre which I still have to break in, however I came across a 1266x on craigslist which I bought, paid 175 for it. Is there anyone who can guide me on what are the best settings for this detector? I'm mainly searching for jewelry, coins, silver coins. I live in central san Joaquin valley in Ca. I've read very good reviews on this detector and cant wait to get out there and hunt. Thanks

Frank

Not familiar with the best settings but I do know they go super deep. I always wanted one for relic hunting. I'd suggest finding a 10.5 coil for it also, it's my favorite Fisher coil.

Had a 1266x years ago, sorry forgot the settings.
They went very deep, excellent pin point mode.
They do tend to get chattery near power lines, overall they were great detectors good score.

hh

I kinda recall one knob left was to get the full target range and then there was another right knob that you would set lower disc, it went into disc mode by a toggle switch, once you practice a few minuts will become very easy, if saw one on Craigs today
would likely buy. It's kinda of a icon metal detector.

http://stevespages.com/pdf/fisher_1266x.pdf