Garrett Ace 250 False and Intermittent Signals

Phantom210

I'm brand new to the hobby and have just purchased the Ace 250 and tried it out. My problem is that I get a ton of false positives and also the detector sometimes seems to go haywire with the tones and target id cursor jumping all over the place. I have used it with the sensitivity turned all the way up, all the way down, and everywhere in between and still get this issue. I also have difficulty pinpointing with the 250 and wonder where and how I'm supposed to "aim". Thanks.

welcome from nebraska. i hunt using the 250 myself and have run in to that problem. your in a high trash area ,i got tired of hearing the sounds and thought my detecter was bad so i started digging every tone,and yes cans, pop tops,nails bottle tops foil from ciggerett packs,even wrappers that contained foil,you can reset your 250 by holding power button until you here it go beep beep,good luck and remember dig everything until u know your strong signals from trash,good luck.:grin:

My ace 250 falsed a lot. Swinging the coil too fast caused it and bumping something with the coil caused it. Lowering the sensitivity helps some but for the most part once I was cautious with the coil and started slowing down some it took care of most of the falsing. I got used to the occasional false hit and could tell quickly if it was false or not because it wouldnt repeat. Overall it wound up being a fairly accurate and fun to use detector , it was just tempermental. Once I got the sniper coil and put it on , no more falsing and swing speed didnt seem to matter much. I liked the sniper coil so well I left it on and thats all I used for a couple years.

Thanks for all the messages. I appreciate it. Just didn't know if that was the nature of the beast, or something wrong with the detector.