Im back....

Ohiodigger

Elite Member
So I have been gone for a few weeks because my father passed away. He was the one who introduced me to detecting. Its not easy trying to recover from the loss of a parent. But I think as long as I keep swinging I am keeping his spirit alive and well in me. I wasnt going to post this but I thought I would as a way to keep him going..... Now I just need to find more time to get out, nothing beats some time out to clear ones head. :(

Sorry for your loss Digger. It's great that every time you pop a plug, you'll be able to connect with him again. Glad to see you back! GL&HH!

Very sorry for your loss, Ohiodigger. You’re right, it’s always a challenge dealing with the loss of a parent.

My Dad was always interested in detecting, but he never was able to make the time to get a detector and try it out. He passed back in 2001, and here I am just getting into the hobby more than 15 years later.

Even though we never detected together, I give him a good amount of credit for getting me into the hobby. I like to imagine he's looking over my shoulder and getting just as excited by my finds while I'm out hunting.

Last edited:
My grandfather got me into detecting. I became his digging buddy for years.
When I became a teenager, I started swinging on my own with my own gear using the skills he taught me.
When he passed, one of his most important possessions to me was his machine. I proudly have his machine displayed in my room.
When I found my 1st confederate buckle, I cried a little with the thought that man, there is no one else I wanted to share this experience with than my grandfather.
But then I smiled when I realized that if he was still with us, he would have found that buckle first! (He would have thought that was funny).
Point is, I know he lives on in me and my hunting and I keep his memory alive by continuing his hunting legacy by using skills he taught me. And it sounds like that is what you will do, too.