Gold Finder - Ace 250 or Fisher F2

F-I-X

Hey I'm new to the hobby, well kinda, I had a radio shack detector back about 10 years ago and found a few coins but when I was on the beach one day I put my wedding band in the sand and tried to find it, but I couldn't , I almost lost it so I threw the detector in the basement and my wife sold it in a yard sale a few years later but i'm now looking at buying a new one. I live in Canada so I'm looking at getting the new Fisher F2 or the Ace 250, which is better for finding gold ? or are they both equal? I have been reading forums a lot lately but no one really says which is better for gold. Any help would be appreciated.:grin:

No, the detectors you mention may find gold jewelry, but for gold nuggets you need a prospecting machine with a higher frequency like a Gold Bug, or Minelab X-Terra 705 Gold Pack or a White's MXT.......maybe even an AT-Pro. Most gold is found in small nuggets, thus the need for a higher frequency. 14 kHz or higher works in my area.

Dusty

oh ok well im just starting out and my wife thinks i'm nuts getting another detector so i guess will go for jewelry, so any idea which one find gold jewelry better ?

Those are two very popular machines.....you're gonna get a gillion opinions!!!! (Either one is OK) A Tesoro Compadre will find gold jewelry as well and is cheaper and has a lifetime warranty.......

Dusty

Well, the Tesoro has the highest frequency, so you can rule that one out. F2-5.9 kHz, Ace 250, - 6.5 kHz.........you decide and remember you can add different coils......

Dusty

gold detecting

My ace 250 probably goes about 8 inches max.(depends on the size of the metal object) Bigger=deeper. I have found gold jewelry with mine at less than 3 inches.

My ace 250 probably goes about 8 inches

My F2 is the same...I have found dimes with a good solid signal at 7 1/2 to 8 inches.

I have found gold jewelry with mine at less than 3 inches.