Newbie looking for tips on research sites etc

T

ttmike42

Hi everyone!
I'm new to metal detecting, I got a MD'er for christmas and have used it a couple of times with varying luck. (mostly old mine junk like bolts and pipes and such).
I live in the sierra nevada foothills of california, in a little town called nevada city. Its in the heart of the gold country / motherlode.
I'm hoping someone on this board is from near me and maybe would come loose of some good sites? I'm 25 years old and having grown up in this area I know of lots of old mining sites, that arent state parks, so I may have sites in trade for you!
I'm also hoping someone can steer me in the right direction in terms of what I need to do to research potential sites. I'm normally very proficient at that kind of thing but am drawing a blank.. the problem I run into around here is that most good older town sites or mining sites are privately owned and fenced, or state or local park. I do know of one good site that is adjacent to the empire mine state park. It is not on park property and I do have permission to be on this property. It is probably a good 80 acres of old tailing piles, old equipment foundations and exploration holes. So now do I just randomly pick a spot on this huge tract of land and start combing it? It could keep me busy for years but as a child I also remember just randomly digging (only kids have energy to blindly dig like that) and remember finding a couple old dump sites that folks probably pre 1950 used as a land fill. The other problem about being on the west coast is the history here in terms of the white man really only extends back to 1850, so I assume I wont be finding anything THAT old.